Some advice for my A spec wheels...

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2009 | 08:35 PM
8th Gear

Some advice for my A spec wheels...

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to the forum and although I have not posted or commented much, I HAVE been surfing around and looking around quite a lot.

Anyways, I just recently picked up a set of 18x8.5 A spec rims for my TL that are powder coated black. I would like some opinions and help on the following:

1. I would like to first verify that my base 04 center caps and lug nuts will fit these rims (since they did not come with any). Additionally, I would like to paint my center caps black to match the rims and would like to know what type of paint to use is best. Should I use Duplicolor and apply several coats? I have read that many members used that to paint their wheels and center caps.

2. I am in the market for a brand new set of tires to go with my Aspecs and would like some recommendation. I am a calm driver and would like to get a good set of tires that are both smooth and quiet without jeopardizing performance. I will need an all season tire since I live in NY and the weather here is well.... lets just say horrible. What brand is suggested and what tire size should I run on these? I do not have any drop (although I might consider an aspec suspension in the near future) and I am at stock height with the original suspensions. I want a tire size that will look good and perform well without needing spacers or any further mods. I just want to mount them, balance them and go.

3. Lastly, I am looking for a nice set of black lug nuts that I could use for my Aspecs. I considered painting my OEM lug nuts black but I was wondering if there is any suggested lug nuts that are of good quality that I can use for a decent price. If there is no luck with those, I might still consider painting my OEM black when I do my center caps.

Any imput is greatly appreciated!! Thanks.
Old 05-21-2009 | 08:40 PM
LIST/RAMEN/WING MAHSTA 짱

Welcome to the forum: