PLEASE HELP! I need HELP solving suspension noise after Eibach and Tokico Install

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2009, 06:56 AM
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
PLEASE HELP! I need HELP solving suspension noise after Eibach and Tokico Install

So I am fairly new to the world of modding cars. But I got a great deal on an Eibach Pro-Kit, so I jumped on it.

First, I just had the Springs installed on the stock struts/shocks. The look was great and just what I was after. But after driving for a bit (I live in the city), I was hearing a horrible noise from the rear. Every time I hit a bump, or pothole, it sounded like something was "clapping" together back there. Like two peaces of metal were coming apart and then smacking back together. We took the back seat out and tightened every nut as tight as we could get it. We tightened the top nut on the shock itself as tight as possible and the two nuts for the top hat. The noise lessened initially, but then got worse and went back to normal.

I was told that my problem was the stock struts/shocks, as they are too "long" for the new springs. So I thought, makes sense. Just by looking at the new springs, there were much shorter than the stock, ESPECIALLY for the rear springs. I was told, the only way to solve the problem is to get new struts/shocks. Being on a budget, I got Tokico Blues.