OEM Shock swap

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2012, 02:13 PM
Intermediate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
OEM Shock swap

Im no mechanic, but i have a friend that is and we tackled this last night. With the help of some Jack Daniels and few beers, we started the swap of my shocks just to some OEM replacements after 129K. I dont race, I'm not 2 fast and 2 furious, but I love my car and saving money! I just got Monroe OEM replacements and rented a spring compression clamp.

It was a bit tougher than I thought. I didnt realize how much pulling, banging, pushing, cursing and kicking was involved to get the bolts lined up right, the shocks in place, etc....but we got the front end done. 100% my fault on the first one, but I re-assembled the strut wrong and had to do it over.

The rear however was a beyotch. Once again im not a mechanic, but the screws for the top of the rear struts are in the most absurd place. We had to pull out the back seat/rear deck to get to them. So then the manual says to pull a bolt out the bottom of the shock and then remove one bolt for the sway bar, then the shock will drop out. That didnt work and we had to remove everything and the shock was still stuck. Push, bang, pull, smack, and a really loud scream of motherf*cker and the shock finally dropped. The bolt for the sway bar wouldnt thread back in either so i need to replace that also now.

Im finishing the rear tonight, hopefully my friend found some bolts for the sway bar ends and I'll have some pics. I only have pics for the front end right now.

Thats it. Not bad for weekend warrior if i do say so myself
Attached Thumbnails OEM Shock swap-2012-10-17-22.52.13.jpg   OEM Shock swap-2012-10-17-23.00.21.jpg   OEM Shock swap-2012-10-17-23.13.58.jpg   OEM Shock swap-2012-10-17-23.30.30.jpg   OEM Shock swap-2012-10-17-21.02.08.jpg  

Old 10-18-2012, 03:42 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 832 Likes on 679 Posts
3G Garage:
https://acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=816065G