Koni Yellow Install coming up On Tein S. Techs.. Any Heads up, Good info b4 i do it?

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2012, 06:28 PM
Pro

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
Koni Yellow Install coming up On Tein S. Techs.. Any Heads up, Good info b4 i do it?

Hey guys so i have my Koni Yellows in the garage waiting to be installed this coming Monday. Is there any good info or tips or tricks for this install, and thing to watch out for? Im new to the Shock world, i read i should put the setting on the least firm for 1k miles to break in the shock, is that true? Also people are talking about Perch settings, is that referring to the Stiffness setting on the shocks? There is 3 perch setting right? Any info would be appreciated. Thanks
Old 03-22-2012, 06:34 PM
Chapter Leader (San Antonio)

Received 433 Likes on 319 Posts
If it just Koni Yellow it only has 3 perches; if it was Koni Yellow SP3 it has 5 perches. It takes about 1,000 miles or so to break in. I put my on firm and it is basically similar to stock (slightly harsher ride). Stiffness in shock and ride. The stiffer it is, the more 'bumps' feel when you're inside the car. The stiffer it is, the better performance at higher speeds. I'd look over the DIY, especially the part in taking the back seat. Everything else is pretty easy/explanatory. Good luck!
Old 03-22-2012, 06:44 PM
Race Director

Received 2,316 Likes on 1,690 Posts
don't snap any fork pinch bolts
Old 03-22-2012, 06:57 PM
Resident Dingo

Received 143 Likes on 113 Posts
You don't have to have the shock on full stiff or soft for a "break in" period. There are 2 perches in the front and 5 in the rear. Cut about an inch or so off of the bump stops to compensate for the loss in height. Also, I had to make the hole in the top hat a bit larger with a grinder to fit the top of the shock in there. Other than that it's a pretty straight forward install. It's not hard, just a bit time consuming. No worries.
Old 03-22-2012, 07:59 PM
6-SPEED LOVER