I'm a complete newb at this...

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2015, 11:03 AM
TBO
7th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Red face I'm a complete newb at this...

I just purchased a 2008 base TL (silver) and I'm looking to throw some gunmetal rims on it. However, I don't really know where to look, what size to get, and what rims will even fit my car.

Is there a certain limited selection of rims that fit the TL, or do all rims that match my tire size work?

Also I think the car has 17" wheels on it, but I'll probably look to increase that to 18" wheels. In that case, am I forced to buy bigger rims for the tire to fit around, or will the tires work with any size rim?

Sorry for what are probably pretty bad questions, but I've just never modded any of my previous vehicles or messed with different tire sizes either.
Old 11-09-2015, 11:09 AM
Be a better driver

Received 66 Likes on 49 Posts
We all start somewhere.

Your stock wheels are 17" in diameter, 8" in width, and have an offset of +45 maybe, or around there. Go to TireRack and read up on what that all means before you do anything. Your bolt pattern is 5x114.3, so any wheels with that bolt pattern will fit, but it is ideal for the hub bore to match also...yours is either 64.1 or 73.1 I'm thinking, but someone else can confirm that. If it's different you can still mount them, you may just want to run hubcentric rings. By the way, this is all stamped on the back of your factory wheels, so you can confirm for yourself.

When plus sizing wheels, the tire sidewall gets smaller to compensate. The important thing to remember when changing wheels is that you want to keep as close to your overall OEM wheel diameter as possible (so tire edge to tire edge), because this keeps your speedometer/odometer accurate. There is usually a slight variance, for example with my setup it is ~2mph off. If you play with a wheel/tire calculator you'll see what I'm getting at.