DIY Alignment - Need some toe help

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2013, 06:08 PM
10th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
DIY Alignment - Need some toe help

I have a couple of questions. I just changed out the front/rear shocks and checked the alignment using the string/conduit method. The toe is out by about 3/32"-6/32" on all 4 tires (3 toed in, 1 toed out in the rear).

I was able to break the toe adjusting nuts loose in the rear, but I couldn't get the bolts to spin. I soaked them in PB and figured I would come back after it soaks for a day or two. This brings me to my questions, bear with me as this is my first attempt at a DIY alignment...

1) If I pick up the adjustable camber kit for the rear, is that the same arm that the toe adjustment is on? (In case I end up having to cut the toe bolts)

2) When/If I do get the bolt moving, is the eccentric washer on the front supposed to spin? There's a piece of metal that protrudes next to the eccentric, so I'm thinking not, but I'm not really 100% clear on how it all works.
Old 03-06-2013, 07:51 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 832 Likes on 679 Posts
With an aftermarket kit (Ingalls) there are 2 different bars on each side, 1 for toe, 1 for camber.

The cam on the bolt is the toe adjustment as it will move the arm in and out depending on its location. Nut will come off as well as the cam.
Good Luck
Old 03-06-2013, 10:06 PM
10th Gear

Originally Posted by Turbonut
With an aftermarket kit (Ingalls) there are 2 different bars on each side, 1 for toe, 1 for camber.

The cam on the bolt is the toe adjustment as it will move the arm in and out depending on its location. Nut will come off as well as the cam.
Good Luck
Ok thanks, I guess I need a camber kit and the rear arm if I have to cut the bolts out then.