Weird Problem?

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2010, 11:15 PM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Weird Problem?

Please understand the way i explain my problem cuz i'm a total noob so do not know the right terminologies

anyways.... Lately when the car is parked outside in the cold over night or for a long period of time and i start my car, the start up seems to be louder than usual. When i first experienced this i thought there was a laundmower or something being used on my block and out of curiosity i rev it a couple of time and from between 2 - 1 rmps, it goes down faster than from 3-2 rpms. when the loud noise is not there, the rmps go down at a constant rate.

is there something wrong with the car or is this normal?

thanks for the help
Old 11-08-2010, 05:50 AM
iWhine S/C 6MT TL

Received 2,563 Likes on 1,317 Posts
Unless you have an exhaust leak what you are running into is normal for these vehicles. If you listen to your TL carefully when started after the vehicle is completely cold, you will notice the exhaust tone is louder/deeper. From what I know there is a valve which allows the system when cold to stay open, its purpose is to heat up the cats faster. After a few seconds to a min (Depending on how cold it is) the valve shuts and the exhaust gets quiet again.

Suggestion is start up your TL and stand behind it for a min. or two.. Listen to the exhaust and see if what your experiencing is what I discribed.
Old 11-08-2010, 06:18 AM
Race Director

Received 1,794 Likes on 1,347 Posts
Could be power steering pump: check PS fluid level.

Doubt it, but could be serpentine drive belt, pulley/s, belt tensioner...
Old 11-09-2010, 09:12 AM

Received 9,507 Likes on 6,176 Posts
I've never had a car NOT do that after being parked outside in the cold for a while. My dad's G35 does it and so does my TL.
Old 11-10-2010, 02:07 PM
Team Owner

Received 1,812 Likes on 1,283 Posts