Testing Honda's new DW-1 A/T fluid.

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2011, 09:02 AM
Advanced

Received 24 Likes on 16 Posts
Testing Honda's new DW-1 A/T fluid.

Here's the rundown.

I'm a Honda Master Technician by trade, and very familiar with Honda's Shudder/Judder Problems in V6 auto transmissions. So in my world you replace to torque converter and thats that. Although as most of us know they're other ways of curing this problem. Most go with Dex-III of Type-F as fluid choices, but after some research i decided to try out honda's new DW-1.

Test vehicle:
2004 TL Base w/Navi with 82,721 miles.

I had recently noticed the judder rearing its ugly head on my TL. The normal light throttle at 40mph or so. Which was disheartening. I know most will change out 3rd/4th pressure switches or trans filters but i wanted to start with the cheapest option first, a simple drain and fill.

The fluid retails at my store for around $8.30.

So i performed the service. let the trans warm up and can say i have 100+miles already since the fluid change on thursday the 25th and have not had any judder at all.

i have exhausted every scenario in which the judder was occuring and have yet to have a judder.

The next step will b e changing out the trans filter. i'm going to give it a couple thouand miles before I change the filter to see how resilient the dw-1 is solely with a fluid change.

one thing i noticed is that the DW-1 is very similar to DEX-III, in look, smell, and texture. as soon as i can get a breakdown of the DW-1 I can get a comparison, make-up wise between the more popular options.
Old 08-27-2011, 10:55 AM
Race Director

Received 2,316 Likes on 1,690 Posts
Thanks for the review!

I wonder how this new Honda ATF compares with Type-F fluid.
Old 08-27-2011, 02:46 PM
Team Owner

Received 1,811 Likes on 1,282 Posts
Looking forward to the long term results, especially since you car occasionally shuddered. I sincerely hope this fixes the problem.