New spark plug excitement turns to horror

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2012, 02:11 AM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New spark plug excitement turns to horror

Hi All,

I've tried to read up on this but I really don't understand enough to even know what to do next. I've crossed 208,000 miles and thought it time to put in the second replacement set of plugs. The dealer did the first set around 105,000 miles so this is my first time tackling the job. I began the job by changing the oil and ATF fluid. Then, I went on a 140 mile trip. The job continued with the spark plug removal. The first two plugs (front passenger and middle) looked shockingly good. Then I pulled the driver side front. The ignition coil had oil in it! Even after pulling the plug, which was completely covered, there was still oil in the bottom of the plug 'chamber'. From what I could tell, that chamber was full of oil that then drained back down after I pulled the plug. This was NOT just a little bit. Forgive my stupidity but, it could only come from below right? I mean, was the plug loose (they all seemed loose but the torque rating is only 13' lbs and I am not sure how loose that should feel) and it blew through there? If so why?

At this point, I realized I should check the oil level. I usually pay better attention to the most important part of the oil change but I somehow didn't this time. My oil level was about 5mm ABOVE full! So, is this a minor overfill problem (if there is such a thing) and that plug was the easiest place for the oil to travel or do I need to do more besides letting out the extra oil? These two event are definitely related right?! I do not remember noticing any performance changes on my 140 mile trip and nothing that jumped out from the gauges. I have obviously not started it since I realized what an idiot I've been.

Thanks for any help or guidance!
Old 03-16-2012, 06:25 AM
Racer

Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts