Brake wear measurement

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2013, 04:19 PM
Advanced

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Brake wear measurement

Hi all, Got a CPO TL '05 98k like a week ago for $13.5k. The car was serviced at the dealer before putting it up on sales. That includes timing belt, tensioner, water pump, transmission fluid, oil and filter. The dealer also gave me a service record of all those replacements. And they have the brakes checked as well. But I don't know how to read the info though. It says: Brake Wear Front 5.0 mm, Rear 3.0mm. Is this anything to be concerned about? When should I change my brake pads? And, just out of curiosity, did I pay too much for the car? Not that I can do anything about it, just wanna know so I can be a better bargainer in the future (it's my first time actually bargaining with a dealer, fyi)
Old 01-06-2013, 07:20 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 832 Likes on 679 Posts
Service limit is 1.6mm front/rear, so when the pads acheive this thickness it will be time for a change and depending on your driving habits will determine the longevity of the pads.

As far as price, that is certainly subjective, but if in excellent condition, I'd say a good price especially with the service that was done and if equipped with navigation it's even better.
The following users liked this post:
thorws (01-06-2013)
Old 01-06-2013, 07:33 PM
Instructor

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Here in Canada CPO needs greater than 40% wear for brakes. Yours has much less.
thorws (01-06-2013)
Old 01-06-2013, 07:39 PM
Race Director

Received 1,795 Likes on 1,348 Posts
OP, lot of good info in the service department:

https://acurazine.com/forums/3g-tl-2004-2008-93/brakes-caliper-o-h-pad-repl-hoses-bleed-disc-specs-park-brake-adj-3g-garage-d-041-a-578017/
thorws (01-06-2013)
Old 01-07-2013, 02:58 AM
Burning Brakes

Received 213 Likes on 149 Posts
Originally Posted by thorws