Acura TL 04 HID Igniter issue

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2017, 03:02 PM
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Acura TL 04 HID Igniter issue

OEM Igniter

This is the bottom piece of the igniter that I've been using for a few years before my headlight problems occured. It has 4 wires. Could one of these 4 wires be a ground??

Aftermarket Igniter

This is the bottom piece of an aftermarket igniter that I recently purchased from Amazon. It has 3 wires and a ground.

My problem is that I don't know if I could use the aftermarket igniter in place of my OEM igniter because of the 3 wires that it has and a ground wire that I see no slot for on the ballast nor headlamp. Can I use this igniter even if I dont connect the ground wire? Thanks a ton.
Old 05-30-2017, 03:23 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 310 Likes on 215 Posts
I'm pretty sure you need to ground it either way. Is there a pin in that open slot on your aftermarket harness? I would think you could cut the aftermarket ground and mount it in the connector pin, just like the OEM ballast (or harness, I'm not sure of the correct term) is already set up.

Don't quote me on that, but that's just personally what I would try to do. I'd wait for someone who has aftermarket igniters to provide their input here first though.

Last edited by TheSauceBoss; 05-30-2017 at 03:27 PM.
Old 05-30-2017, 03:37 PM
8th Gear

Originally Posted by TheSauceBoss
I'm pretty sure you need to ground it either way. Is there a pin in that open slot on your aftermarket harness? I would think you could cut the aftermarket ground and mount it in the connector pin, just like the OEM ballast (or harness, I'm not sure of the correct term) is already set up.

Don't quote me on that, but that's just personally what I would try to do. I'd wait for someone who has aftermarket igniters to provide their input here first though.