Actual vacuum leak or something else? P2279, mix too rich, and "misfires"

Search this Thread

Old Yesterday, 05:23 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Actual vacuum leak or something else? P2279, mix too rich, and "misfires"

Hi there! This is my first time posting, I've done a fair amount of basic repairs on the last few cars I've owned but I'd rate my skill level not far above "can only change oil with ease". I've owned my 2004 TL MT for about 3.5 years and I generally love it. This forum has been a great source of answers to questions I've had about this car, thank you very much to all you contributors! It has about 220k miles on it and for the last 6-9 months I've been experiencing intermittent stalling/idle drops to <500 rpm about 2-5 minutes after a cold start (car has been sitting for 8+ hours without being started/running) as well as occasional RPMs surging at idle after it's been running for a while. For at least the past several months it's been throwing the CEL codes listed below: P2279 intake air leak, P0172 & P0175 (mix too rich, both banks), and P0300 - P0306 (misfire on all cylinders as well as "random" cylinder). Shortly before this started, I replaced the APP sensor which fixed a problem where the car was in limp mode. I also had a local independent shop replace the rack & pinion, new serp belt, and do some suspension work which I assume isn't related to this problem, like rear sway bars and tie rod ends. Since this started happening, I've replaced the power steering pump and large air intake hose\ between the throttle body and air filter box (which did have a couple small splits in it), as well as replaced what I'd call the "intake manifold COVER gasket" and the two little manifold end gasket covers, replaced all spark plugs, gently tried to clean the throttle body, MAP sensor, PCV valve, and EGR valve port (but didn't thoroughly clean the entire EGR passage), and sprayed some top engine cleaner into the throttle body with the thr