Help w/ Big Brake Kit?!

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2008, 03:42 PM
Safety Car

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Help w/ Big Brake Kit?!

Long story short, I've decided to scratch the blower and in its place, purchase a big brake kit! I've done a few forum searches, but I didn't quite find what I was looking for: so the question comes to YOU experts! So...being inexperienced with ANY sort of brake upgrades...I don't quite understand the difference between the brands, nor do I understand the purpose of slotted/drilled calipers. I'm only looking for a big brake kit so that I can stop faster; I've been in some situations where I HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO STOP-biggest scare was on the freeway going 70 when some truck decided to dump its cargo right in front of me...and two other cars! I'm a STUDENT working his way through, so I don't exactly have a very large "disposable" income...but I'd rather pay the price for the RIGHT SET versus the cheap knock-offs; trust me, I've had my fair share...I've learned that if I'm going to do it, then might as well DO IT THE RIGHT WAY. SSSSOOOO...Brembos, Stop-Tech, Rotora?! Which one!??!!? Oh and how much can I expect to be throwing out?...atleast 2k? under? OVER?!

Thanks all,
Eric Kim

...I REALLY, really appreciate all your input!!! Thanks much!!!
Old 06-01-2008, 03:45 PM
Safety Car

oh! sorry...
2005 TL / auto
Old 06-01-2008, 03:53 PM
Team Owner

Received 1,137 Likes on 1,067 Posts
auto trans - ok you can get way better rotors and pads- possibly 2 piston calipers in front, and keep a reasonable budget.
I am checking to see if a gen2 mod of calipers will fit gen3- no word yet.

RacingBrake and Rotora and EBC all have excellent rotors and pads
The side slots are a nice upgrade if you drive hard- they allow an escape path for the gasses the pads expel during hard use-if you race-,those gas pressures can be high and need an outlet
If you street drive like a normal human there is no real need for cross driled, or even side vanes.