CT Exhaust, RV6 J-Pipe/Test Pipe install...Finally!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2009, 08:35 AM
My baby's ride...

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CT Exhaust, RV6 J-Pipe/Test Pipe install...Finally!!

I've had them sitting in my garage for the past 2-3 months and finally found some time to install them (made sure couple of friends were over ). I made sure to read everyone's stories of installs to make sure I knew what I was getting myself into since I've never done anything to a car before.

Well, let me tell you...who the heck said this was a simple bolt off/bolt on process that shouldn't take no more than 30 minutes???? WTF?? Yeah, simple bolt off but getting it back on was a major pain in the rear. First off, getting the J-Pipe to go back onto those 6 bolts was almost impossible. We had to use a rubber mallet and hammer that sucker to sit up flush with the pre-cats?. (Richie's install note said As you can see below, my car wasn't up very high. Manuevering under a car, on your back is not the easiest thing to do. After finally getting the J-Pipes to sit up, there was one nut on each end that could not be tightened with a socket wrench. The socket wouldn't fit since the nut was too close to the pipe itself (I guess the pipe being wider was a culprit). What a pain that was. I hope all was tightened enough. We even had a torque wrench but didn't tighten to specifications. We just hand tighten until it couldn't tighten no more. We were all too lazy to read how to use the torque wrench. LOL. (Any problems with this or should I go back under and tighten to 40 pounds or whatever it should be?)

After several hours of work...that's right, several hours and my neck stiff from being under the car...I was finally done. Phew!! I test drove it and loved the husky tone of the exhaust. No hissing and hope it doesn't show up. Haven't really gone all out so when I do that, I'll report back.