Review of JBL Component Speakers on Factory Amp

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2016, 01:36 PM
Racer

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts
Review of JBL Component Speakers on Factory Amp

Overview
I wanted to take the time to write this review for those who are debating whether or not to add a set of speakers to their UA6 without adding an aftermarket amplifier. When I was researching this topic on the forums I found many different answers to this question. Some said it would make a decent difference, some said none, and some said volume would be lost. I am hoping to clear all of this up with my review. FYI: These speakers were not a replacement for blown OEM components, just an upgrade. Also, I am not a audio expert, so forgive me for not knowing some of the jargon

The speakers I went with were the JBL GX600C 6.5" component speakers. They are $150 at Best Buy and go on sale from time to time, so you can probably save $20 or $30 if you time the purchase right. I chose these speakers for a few reasons: They have a rating of 2.3 ohms, while most speakers are rated at 4 ohms (the OEM door speakers and amplifier are rated 2 ohms), they weren't too expensive or too cheap, and JBL is a well known brand that puts out a quality product for the price.

Installation was not done by myself, but the mids made it in the doors without much trouble as did the tweeters in the factory location on the dash. I wanted to note this as Crutchfield said most aftermarket speakers would not fit in the doors. Guess they were wrong lol,
Review
There were really no expectations to be had since this was my first time running aftermarket speakers in a car. Anyway, the first song I played with these speakers was "B.Y.O.B." by System of a Down. I immediately noticed an improvement. The difference was not night and day, but I could definitely tell everything was more clear. The guitar and cymbals seemed more prominent and the vocals didn't seem at all overpowered by the instruments.