IPOD for Dummies

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2006, 01:14 PM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
IPOD for Dummies

Hey guys... I'm getting ready to start negotiating with the dealer for an 06 TL with NAV (6MT). I'm trying to decide if I should order the IPOD hookup (Musiclink) when I buy my car, or wait until later and get one of these other IPOD systems.

I'm an IPOD novice...I was given the video IPOD as a gift but currently haven't used it at all. Can someone give me a comprehensive overview of the Pros/Cons of getting the dealer-installed IPOD hookup? My main concerns are sound quality and functionability with the steering wheel/stereo controls. I want to be able to load a bunch of songs in the IPOD, throw it in the glove compartement, and then not have to deal with it for a few months. I want to hear virtually NO sound degradation compared to a CD. Am I asking too much?

Thanks!
Rob
Old 06-11-2006, 01:29 PM
Pro

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Pros: sound quality and under warrantee.

Con's: more expensive than other solutions, ackward navigation.

I've got one, the tts acura software is hit or miss, sometimes i get the exact selection i want, sometimes not. You can just use the suffle mode or pre-select want you want and then connect. Sounds great though and was able to slide it in past the wife, easier than a separate purchase later on. (for me)

Dave
Old 06-11-2006, 02:01 PM
Cruisin'

Hah! Loved the wife comment. Fortunately, it was my wife's parents who got me the IPOD, so she wants this feature too!

So it sounds like it is just not the most user friendly interface. Is that just with the voice, or buttons too?
Old 06-11-2006, 06:03 PM
Intermediate