Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

XM newbie question

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2004, 09:02 PM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
XM newbie question

ok, i just realized that my XM radio was, in fact, turned on by the dealer...but since im very new to XM, i had a few questions. any help is appreciated!

first, i was using the steering wheel radio control to flip thru the XM stations and i kept getting the voice recording to activate. when i use the steering wheel control, it goes thru the channels like XM 1-1, XM 1-2 or XM 2-1, etc...and the voice recording kept coming up. does everyone else have this? how am i able to flip thru the channels with the controller, to browse thru stations?

thank you
Old 01-07-2004, 09:31 PM
Advanced

When you use the Steering wheel control to change channels, it goes to next station you have programed with the buttons 1-6. To change to the next channel ie: 100 to 101 you have to use the tunning knob.

RB
Old 01-07-2004, 09:33 PM
Advanced

rbraud:

ah, ic. i'll be sure to program them. i havent gotten a chance to
read the full manual yet, but i'll be sure to.

the cs told me there were different bands, XM1-3. does that impact us in any way?

thanks!
Old 01-08-2004, 12:06 AM
Banned

Received 14 Likes on 7 Posts
There is just one group of channels.

Assuming that you have Navi, you can just tell it "XM Radio Channel Twenty Two" or something like that.

There are two XM "banks" for presets, just like FM.
To program the position, tune to the channel you want, and then press and hold the number (1-6) either on the screen or on the Disc buttons along the bottom of the dash.

When you press Channel Up/Down on the steering wheel, it simply jumps between presets.

I'm sure you've noticed that you can hit the AUDIO button on the far right under the Navi screen to switch to Audio display, and see what's going on.

You can also use the right rotary dial to manually tune through all the channels.