Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Why get a TL?

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2010, 10:51 PM
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Why get a TL?

Ok so I am currently a college student in nyc and plan on getting my first car. When I saw the 07 TL-S, I said to myself that I had to have it! I was having a conversation with a friend who told me to not to get this car. His argument was: why pay ~25k for a 3 year old used car when you can easily buy, say a 2010 honda civic for instance, for ~18k.

What are your guys thoughts? What makes the TL-S that much better than a new 2010 car?
Old 05-18-2010, 11:02 PM
AMFTW

They are both Honda vehicles, with proper maintenance they both will last a very long time. Of course though you are asking a bunch of TLer's if you should choose between what we have and a Honda civic... well I'm sure the vote would be unanimous.

NOW go to a civic forum and ask the same question...

oh ya get a new friend.
Old 05-18-2010, 11:14 PM
Registered but harmless

Received 1,106 Likes on 764 Posts
Originally Posted by kbfnyc
Ok so I am currently a college student in nyc and plan on getting my first car...
What are your guys thoughts? What makes the TL-S that much better than a new 2010 car?
As a college student, you could pay $3K for a POS beater (or reliable '90s Honda/Toyota) until you start working, after which you may have a better choice of vehicles.

In a public transit-friendly place like metro NY or San Francisco, I wouldn't even bother with a car.

Otherwise, the TL-S is a different category of car from a Civic, is faster, has more features,

Welcome to AZ.
Old 05-18-2010, 11:34 PM
Fear and Loathing in my

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Sit in, and drive the TL type S, then sit in and drive a new Civic. Then come back and tell us why you want the TL.

Nothing wrong with the new Civics, but after you test drive them and see the difference for yourself, you'll know why.
Old 05-18-2010, 11:54 PM
Three Wheelin'

Received 96 Likes on 74 Posts