3G TL (2004-2008)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Took Car to the Dealer for B service and.....

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2006, 02:52 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Took Car to the Dealer for B service and.....

Hello all: I am mostly a lurker until today, so I guess I am a newbie.

I bought my 05 TL last April and I love it and love driving it. Its a 6 speed.

Back Story: From the time I got the car I noticed that 3rd gear was a bit rough. I sometimes had a lot of trouble downshifting into 3rd gear. When I first had the car service at the dealer ship that I purchased from - I mentioned the issue and asked that they look at it. I was told they did a minor adjustment to it and it should be fine. They said that was all they could do since it was a saturday appointment and they did basic service. But they told me they would note the file in case I had additional issue in the future. I was acutally hoping that it would a simple change of fluid like many of you had suggested.

It seemed to work for a bit - but then it seemed to happen all the time - during normal shifting and it also started popping out of gear. It just felt like it wasn't grapping. I didn't say anything to my husband - only because he normally says that it is because I don't drive the car right. Anyway he drove it - and mentioned having issues with 3rd gear. Ok so it isn't me. Don't take this wrong - but as a female that has driven stick her entire life - no matter what most men tend to think you don't know how to drive it and assume you bought a car that you don't know how to drive. I get this a lot from the service people at the dealership - and so I have learned to be very cautious about discussing stick with anyone.

Anyways - so this is getting long.

I contacted the dealership to find out about my car and if I can pick it up tonight.