Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The RR Journals: Ultimate Parts: Floor Jacks

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2005, 09:31 PM
Not a Blowhole

Received 33 Likes on 13 Posts
The RR Journals: Ultimate Parts: Floor Jacks

Those who have been to RR's Garage know that while it is not the cleanest or prissiest around, there are great tools galore. Having been in the car biz and a racer/enthuisiast since I was 14, I have assembled a lot of tools that I consider "Best in Class". I mean, how many people do you know that have the brake bleeder tool for the NSX? (Hint: it is needed because the master cylinder is mounted way low in the Front of the car, not in the engine bay towards the back).

When I was a poor student/weekend racer, cost was everything, so finding quality tools that were cheap was paramount. A modicum of success in life has allowed me to focus new purchases on buying the best for the purpose, and cost be damned.

This series will be sharings on parts that strike me as being particularly excellent, and in the long run, more economical, because in most cases, the quality will allow you to recover your investment over time.

Around this time several years ago, I was searching for a high quality floor jack, with an extended reach AND a very low minimum saddle height. I needed it to make jacking up the S2000 easier - instead of a multi-step event involving the side jack positions, then the undercar jack points, I wanted one solution.

I found it in the AC Hydraulics DK13HLQ jack. Made in Denmark, this thing has a minimum saddle height of just 3.1", and maintains this for about 16" of reach. Measurements had edstablished this was just what The Rage Man needed. The jack also has a high lift height, good weight capacity (2800 pounds), moderate weight (65 pounds), and some accessories that make practical and safety sense.