Question for 6-spd owners

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2009 | 09:24 AM
Under construction

Question for 6-spd owners

What's the best way to "save" the clutch. Like when you shift do you try to be a smooth as possible engaging clutch and pressing gas at the same time or just letting go of the clutch completly before pressing the gas? I've been driving manual for maybe 5 months now so just trying to improve thanks fellas!
Old 01-10-2009 | 09:28 AM
6-SPEED LOVER

u need to shift smoothly, doin burnouts and stuff like that is a no no, i just luv how our clutch got that hydraulic system... it goes from smooth to stiff as hell when u need it
Old 01-10-2009 | 10:02 AM
Registered Member

Here's a link you might find helpful. I've written a ton of stuff about this very topic on this forum. Search for words like "downshift" and "synchronizer" for a start. As for the link below, go to post #34 and start from there. Let me know if you have questions.. I'd be happy to help out.

https://acurazine.com/forums/car-talk-5/need-help-stick-shift-358711/
Old 01-10-2009 | 10:11 AM
Registered Member

Originally Posted by 05TL*6-SPEED*
What's the best way to "save" the clutch. Like when you shift do you try to be a smooth as possible engaging clutch and pressing gas at the same time or just letting go of the clutch completly before pressing the gas? I've been driving manual for maybe 5 months now so just trying to improve thanks fellas!
As a quick answer to your immediate question, you want to try to make your shifts and clutch release smooth. And yes, you do add throttle while engaging the clutch, but since it is done pretty quickly (once you get in down pat), there should be no slippage induced by you. You do not want to linger with the clutch partially engaged while bringing up engine speed. Nor do you want to make the upshift then let the clutch out without adding throttle - this will result in a jerky ride and is not good for the components.