Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

No Blind Spot (3G Garage E-043)

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2004, 12:54 PM
Team Anthracite

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
No Blind Spot (3G Garage E-043)

I have been using this method for almost 2 years since I heard about it on Car Talk, and though it takes awhile to get used to I totally love it now.

The trick is this:

1) (while parked) Place your head against the left window, and adjust the mirror so the side of the car is just about out of sight (mirror's view is basically paralell to the side of the car.) When you return your head to driving position, you'll probably be disoriented because the mirror is pointing out into the middle of nowhere.

2) Lean over over the center console, and do the same to the right mirror. Again, when you return to driving position, your right mirror is showing you some wierd out of the way view.

3) Now adjust the rear view mirror to center on your rear window.

As you drive, its wierd because what you see through the side mirrors is a rush of whatever your passing, always constant motion. That was the most disorienting part for me originally. However, you'll see someone behind you in your rearview mirror, and as they pass you it's like magic -- they leave your rearview mirror only to appear in your side mirror. By the time their leaving your side mirror, their right beside you and you can see them out the window.

Give it a shot! It takes awhile to get used to, and most people I've told it to can't stand it, but for me it has made a world of difference.
The following users liked this post:
masterstone (02-18-2013)
Old 06-14-2004, 01:19 PM
Safety Car

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
i tried it but can't stand it. its too dis-orienting when i am staring at the side mirror into nowhere and have to adjust my mind. i just do the quick peek at the side when i turn(i know some will argue its dangerous).
Old 06-14-2004, 01:23 PM
Administrator

Received 1,003 Likes on 573 Posts