My Best attempt to explain and show how to install Type-S Aspec Rear Lip kit

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2008, 05:10 PM
Drifting

Received 43 Likes on 39 Posts
My Best attempt to explain and show how to install Type-S Aspec Rear Lip kit

How to Install 2007 Type-S Rear Aspec Lip onto 04-06 TL

PS my car was DIRTY

OK, so this is my first attempt of explaining how to do something with pictures so please bare with me.

Tools Used:

Phillips Screwdriver
Flat screwdriver (to assist with clip removal)
Drill
Drill Bits: 3mm, 6mm, 12mm
Dremel with cutting bit
10mm Ratchet wrench
Pliers
Z shaped Phillips screwdriver (to get the screws out from the wheel well)

First was the removal of the stock bumper (didn’t take pictures). Those who have never removed it, remember that after you remove the three screws that hold on the rear splash guard, you HAVE to remove the mount, and then there is a screw that is vertical which holds the bumper onto the rear fender.

Remove this cover that you can get to once you open the trunk, behind it there is a 10mm bolt (one on each side).

Then, there are two clips that hold the exhaust outlet cover (the grey thing) on. Remove those and pull on it which will unclip from the bumper. Once you do that, you have six clips on the bottom (there is one above the exhaust on either side!!).

After you pull all the clips off, then slowly pull from each side of the bumper and it will slowly pull away. I recommend having two people, but if not like I didn’t it’s possible, just be careful.

Once removed, I was thinking of just cutting the opening out and leaving the rest. But then thought that it would be easier to just cut the whole bottom section off. I taped off, so that I would know what not to cut off. ( I used a dremel, with a dull cutting bit. Do not recommend using a dull cutting bit, lost control A LOT).