3G TL (2004-2008)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

AT or MT - Which Transmission Should I Go For?

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2005, 12:56 PM
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
AT or MT - Which Transmission Should I Go For?

Ok. I'm still in the mid-stages of the buying process...and can't work out whether I ought to go with an AT or MT '05. No dealer's around here (SJ CA) have an MT to test - is it really worth the extra wait?

I must admit I'm an ex-pat Brit who has never owned an AT car, so doing so before I turn 50 seems a bit wrong....

Any thoughts?

Cheers.
Old 01-14-2005, 01:00 PM
CEO, Team Anthracite

How much do you like sitting in traffic? As I am also a resident in the Bay Area I am intimately aware of the traffic conditions here and would hate to get stuck shifting in stop and go traffic. I got the 5AT for convenience and wouldn't mind getting a 6MT for a weekend car, but not right now in my life...
Old 01-14-2005, 01:07 PM
Advanced

Go with the 6MT...especially if that's what you've driven your entire life. This way you won't know the difference, whereas if you get the AT you may be kickin yourself down the road as to why you didn't go with the 6MT.

As for getting an AT before you turn 50...well I'm with you on that one.
Old 01-14-2005, 01:09 PM
8th Gear

Two TL's? Mmmmm....that sounds good. Not sure that the missus would let that one slide (I'm currently just about winning the "honey we really need Navi because I'm not a local" argument)

The traffic around here is the only reason I'm considering it though....
Old 01-14-2005, 01:14 PM
What's a TL?

I have AT...get MT for sure
Old 01-14-2005, 01:20 PM
Safety Car

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
I have an AT as well... I INSIST you get the MT ... biggest regret I have, that I opted for the manual. I would have dealt w/ the hassle of driving my MT in heavy traffic just so I could enjoy the true power of this engine and drivetrain.
Old 01-14-2005, 01:21 PM
Safety Car