3G TL (2004-2008)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just did my first install (AEM CAI)

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2007, 01:31 PM
Racquetballer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Just did my first install (AEM CAI)

So I just completed my first big install on my TL and I must say I was pretty scared it wouldn't turn out good but agains all odds, I completed the install in around four hours (took some breaks, and I'm a NOOB) and it turned out great . I bought an an AEM CAI a couple days ago and just got around to installing it on my 05 NBP AT and absolutely love the performance gain and the sound it makes when you get on it.

I do have a question for all you advanced/experienced members who have an intake installed. I woke up this morning wanting to take another test drive in my car, but when I was accelerating, I noticed a high pitch whine/whistle during a certain part of the acceleration. If I held the pedal down and kept the same speed while producing this noise, I would continue to hear it. If I kept accelerating, it would go away once I passed around 30 mph or so (>3000 rpm). Has anyone experienced this before? I don't think it's supposed to be there and I'm kinda worried. Could it be from the car being cold? Thanks for any help you can provide.
Old 10-05-2007, 01:40 PM
Advanced

hey guys, i had a similar concern, however it was around 1900-2300 rpm range where there was a hissing sound. it would remain constant if i kept my foot on the gas and in that rpm range, but would go away if i went above or below that. it is the same whether the car is cold or hot. perhaps it's just the cai gasping for air??
Old 10-05-2007, 02:18 PM
Oderint dum metuant.

Received 534 Likes on 446 Posts
Hissing is normal with a CAI, but as you've both noticed, it only happens for a brief period while accelerating. If you accelerate more quickly, you'll never hear it.
Old 10-05-2007, 02:19 PM
Racquetballer

Re: CAI whistle