I have a question....

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2005 | 10:34 AM
2nd Gear

I have a question....

I have been reading this forum and the TSX one because I am contemplating buying an Acura. I keep seeing on the boards how people are demanding there deposits back. Now I understand that sometimes there can be an issue where the dealer lied or couldn't get the car and they want the deposit back, which I understand. What I don't understand is that when someone leaves a deposit and then goes to another dealer and then tries to cancel the previous deal. How much more are people getting off the original deal that they would want to cancel there deposits? Is it that they are going to another dealer and they are beating the price buy $100 or $200 or are we talking into the thousands? I work in the computer industry and deal with this all the time, not the cancellations but the negotiating of deals and the such.

I am just curious. I would figure you would make the best deal you could and not leave a deposit until you were completely satisfied.
Old 02-16-2005 | 10:47 AM
Intermediate

Hi there,

I just purhcased a 05 WDP with navi, and just went through the negogiation stage, I think on a brand new car there really isnt that much wiggle room, I paid about 1200 below msrp, and did NOT pay any PDI charges so thats about it. a couple of dealers wanted a few hundred more but its def not thousands of dollars difference, I guess the with TL the demand is there, but I did see the new chevy truck convertible for 11,000 less than msrp!!!!
Old 02-16-2005 | 12:20 PM
MR1
05/5AT/Navi/ABP/Quartz

Originally Posted by hefe4711