3G TL (2004-2008)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Another Insurance dilemma...Advice needed.

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2012, 09:39 AM
TL-S

Received 412 Likes on 365 Posts
Another Insurance dilemma...Advice needed.

Hey everyone.

I have a bit of an insurance dilemma. Here's some background info:

My father and I are both co-owners of the TL. He is 64, I am 21. He is retired, I am a student full time and we've classified the car as to/from work/school under 7500 miles per year and full coverage insurance. I believe my deductible was 500 collision, 250 comprehensive and coverages were 50/100 or something along those lines.

I've been with Allstate for about 3 years now with the TL and with a couple cars before it. Its always been reasonably cheap and my last premium was $500ish for 6 months (I always pay in full).

Here comes the bad news though.

My dad got pulled over in March of 2011 and was given 3 tickets. Cop was kind of an asshole; my dad hasn't had a single ticket in 20 years and they hit him with following too closely, speeding, and no seat belt.

Also in February 2011 I got hit with a speeding ticket and disregarding a highway sign, and in May 2011 I rear ended someone.

Then in December 2011, someone rear ended me and my dumbass decided to report it to my insurance company. They did nothing because the other person's insurance paid out.

In June 2012 someone backed into my car, and my dumbass again decided to report it to my insurance and they did nothing because the other person's insurance paid out.

Now that it was time to renew, Allstate quoted me something like $1450 for 6 months. FUCKING RIDICULOUS?! I shopped around, and State Farm wouldn't insure me and Geico quoted me $1800.

I'm kind of all out of options. I kind of waited until the last minute so I was forced to insure my car at those rates for the month of September while I find a good solution. I paid 179$ for liability for the month of September.