Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

6 speed hard to drive at slow speeds

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2004, 08:05 PM
Awesome to the Max

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
6 speed hard to drive at slow speeds

I've put almost a 1000 miles on my car so far..and I have to say..this car is so hard to drive at slow speeds...maybe I'm just a crappy manual driver, but it seems like I'm slowly doing permanent damage to the car by revving it more than it's needed, and burning too much clutch...going up hills...being stuck in traffic...after every drive i take..i go outside of my car...and try to smell for burning clutch or something...it's an awesome car to drive at 65-100, but for like...0-30, it's really hard..

it seems like I have to constantly look at my rpm guage...or else..i'll go to like..5000 rpm on first gear.....i think i should go to dealership and have them teach me how to drive this car better before I damage it...
Old 11-22-2004, 08:43 PM
Racer

Yes, I think you probably just need some more practice. The TL is actually quite easy to drive at any speed. You shouldn't be holding the clutch for much past about 1000-1500 rpms on launch. And you can bring most gears down to about 1500 rpms without it lugging too much. In most cases, I'll keep it in second gear down to about 1000 without a problem.

If this is your first time driving a standard, you have a long way to go before you'll master it. I've been driving standard for about 15 years and there are still days that I feel like a rookie. Take your time, and don't get discouraged. If you don't feel like you're doing something right, have someone that's been driving standard for a while spend an hour or so with you and show you what you're doing wrong.

The 6mt this car is excellent, so enjoy it.

Good luck!
Old 11-22-2004, 09:00 PM
Registered Member

Received 162 Likes on 102 Posts
To terse;

Did you read my postings on the correct manner in which to operate a manual transmission? If not, I'll can repost.