Transmission Differences - Does it adjust to driver behavior?

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2021 | 12:23 PM
1st Gear

Transmission Differences - Does it adjust to driver behavior?

Hey everyone, newbie here! If I missed a thread that already addressed this, please point me the right direction. I don't currently own an RDX, but I'm planning to buy a CPO one in the next few weeks. Wife and I went and test drove a 2019 ASpec and 2019 Tech Pkg on Saturday. Loved them both, but decided that the Advance Pkg was probably the right thing for me (more comfortable seats, HUD, 360 camera, etc.). Went to a different dealer an hour away to look at a CPO Advance last night. Vehicle is great overall, but I didn't buy (yet?) because I just wasn't 100% confident due to the fact that the transmission just didn't "act" quite the same as the other few that I've driven over the last few months. I'm not a gearhead like some of you (wish I was!), but there was a bit more lag when I really gave it gas, and the shifting between gears was just a little less smooth. It was only noticeable when I intentionally was more aggressive in acceleration (which is part of the fun of this vehicle!). I had the same drive modes on, so it wasn't that.

So my question is: Does this sound normal? Dealer said it could be that the prior owners (70-yo retired couple that didn't drive much) just drove it very differently, and that the transmission learns and adapts to a driver's style. Is that true? Does it adapt to a new driver fairly quickly? Is there a way to reset the transmission to factory settings? Any advice or input here would be appreciated!
Old 04-20-2021 | 12:30 PM
Burning Brakes