buying 2014 MDX advanced, should I be worried about electrical issues?

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2015, 09:09 AM
Intermediate

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Question buying 2014 MDX advanced, should I be worried about electrical issues?

So, newbie here with the Mdx, but I do work on most of my cars, and do repairs, so I'm not too concerned about mechanical issues/wear items.

I'm close to buying a 2014 MDX advance package, with 73k miles. (so no more factory warranty). Looking through the service records, I see it had the ACC cable reel issues (fixed under warranty) and CMBS updates and other error codes (needs the windshield clean). Nothing major, but seeing these, it made me think about how much tech is in the car, and I started to wonder if I need to purchase a warranty to cover the electronics. I desperately don't want to purchase a warranty, mostly because they are usually rip offs, overpriced, don't cover items when you needs it, etc. But, I thought i'd ask the community, and see what you guys think? I'm usually active in the forums of the cars I own, so if problems came up, i'd probably be reading here, or other MDX forums to see if others have had the issue already, to help me in diagnosing. I don't mind going to the dealer, and I actually have an awesome service rep at a local Honda dealer that I've been taking my Honda's to for over 10 years. He said they do work on Acura's but if it needs warranty work, i'd have to go to a Acura dealer (for the case by case goodwill warranty items)

So, hopefully, i'm just being overly cautious here, and you guys all tell me what I think I already know which is Acura's (generally) are reliable vehicles and I shouldn't be having tons of electrical issues in the years to come with this MDX.
Thanks.
First post, woot!
Old 12-24-2015, 12:19 PM
Instructor

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts