Sigh of relief!

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2009, 11:17 PM
Three Wheelin'

Received 215 Likes on 169 Posts
Sigh of relief!

Knowledge is power, or ignorance is bliss, or why doing it yourself is always better: I purchased my Enkei wheels back in August, and because I was a total noob, I had a local tire shop put them on. At the time, they asked me if I wanted to use my existing lugs or use the new lugs that came with the wheels, since they (seemed) exactly the same. I, very fortunately, chose to use the new lugs.

I'm not such a noob anymore and I had been reading about lug seats for aftermarket wheels, how they have a tapered seat versus the ball seat of our OEM wheels. It bugged me that ball-seat lugs may have been put on my wheels and possibly damaged them.

Tonight I finally went and took one of the lugs off, and boy was I relieved to see that they were, in fact, tapered. If you just looked at them from outside, they really do look exactly the same as the OEM lugs. But placed side by side, they are completely different.

It sucks that a tire shop that mounts wheels all day long did not know the difference, but I'm not really surprised. Ineptness runs rampant in our society and you have to watch out for your own ass constantly. Kudos to Tirerack for including the proper lugs, but -1 for including socket extensions that were too big and didn't fit them said lugs. Again, ineptness.

To thank Acurazine and all of you guys for the knowledge that you have bestowed upon me, I shall be posting a guide on rotating tires. Yes, I'm going to do my very first DIY tire rotation this weekend. I'll have pics up and detailed instructions. Obviously it'll be pretty useless for guys like DerwoodEE and HeavyDuty, but to the noobs out there, knowledge is power!

(Pardon my longwinded post but I'm slightly tipsy at the moment. )
Old 11-05-2009, 03:13 PM
Three Wheelin'

Received 82 Likes on 71 Posts
Good for you in trying DIY project on your car.