2010 MT Shift Points

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2009, 03:38 PM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2010 MT Shift Points

I recently bought a 2010 TSX MT and I'm extremely happy. It's a Palladium w/ Navi and took about 3 months to get. I traded in my '06 TSX AT and it's like a completely different car, in a good way. I have a question about the recommended shift points. The manual states that you should shift from 1st to 2nd at 17mph, 2nd to 3rd at 29mph, 3rd to 4th at 37mph, 4th to 5th at 43 mph and 5th to 6th at 49mph. As I am fairly new to driving stick and I feel like this is a little off. For those of you who drive a MT, what do you recommend? I'm getting used to the feel of the car and I could essentially be in 5th or 6th gear a lower mph than I thought and base my shifts primarily on RPMs. I can hear the engine wanting a higher gear as well sometimes. I know that the higher the gear, the better the fuel economy, etc.

Also, I see that a lot of people talk about the steering feel of the new TSX. I'm very satisfied with the steering and really like the thicker steering wheel and how it electronically tightens when cornering, etc. Along with the MT, that's probably my favorite aspect of the 2nd gen.

One more quick question, when you park do you typically leave it in gear (1st or reverse)? Or, can you just leave it in neutral (parking brake on of course). I've seen people do it either way.

Thanks
Old 12-08-2009, 04:18 PM
Three Wheelin'

Received 82 Likes on 71 Posts
Congrats.

Shift according to the manual will give you higher fuel economy (mpg). You are right about getting to the higher gear sooner will result in better fuel economy. But to really get the car going, I shift @ around 3,500rpm for normal driving and upto 5,000rpm for more spirited run.

Am glad you like the new EPS.

When park, I always leave it in 1st gear plus parking brake. It's gives double protection against rolling.
Old 12-08-2009, 08:31 PM
Pro

Received 159 Likes on 105 Posts