Wheels and Shock/Spring FAQ for dummies

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2007, 02:46 AM
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Wheels and Shock/Spring FAQ for dummies

Hi All,

I am finally getting around to looking for rims, rubber, and perhaps suspension for My TL. I am not that technical and I am looking for any objective guidance someone can provide on the following topics

Wheels
======
Currently running stock at 16". I read the the sticky and I understand that 19's are as big as they can go. I am probably looking at 18's or 19's

Rubber
======
I will probably get all seasons decent quality since in rains a lot in Vancouver, BC (I think Falken are a good branch). I would like a slightly lower profile tire than stock but have no idea on what the sizes are.

Suspension
========
Once the wheels are installed from what I have read there is a funny looking gap to deal with? Can someone confirm this? If it is not too bad I would rather not lower the car. I did this before on an integra H and R sport and the ride was too hard for me.

I don't really care about performance. It is mostly about the appearance
- To that end I think this is the topic I am most confused about. Here is my understanding so far

1) springs - lower the car with springs such as h and r on factory shocks.
pros:cheap
cons: wear out factory shocks, bad ride

2) Shocks and springs (ie. tein basics, or tein ss)
pros: the right way to do it, comfortable ride, adjustable
cons: cost

3)Coilovers (mm have no clue about this)

Stores:
Anyone from Vancouver BC that can provide recommendations on stores to purchase and get this all done?
Old 02-21-2007, 09:27 AM
Senior Moderator

Received 3,063 Likes on 2,119 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

Wheels.

if you have rough roads and pot holes you may want to stick with 18s.

Rubber.