Newbie Help on deciding Yokohama vs Michelin

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2007, 09:48 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie Help on deciding Yokohama vs Michelin

Hi, I am total noob when it comes to tires. I have been using Michelin as they came standard on my car and didn't think of using other brands. But now I am considering Yokohama Avid v4s vs Michelin Energy MXV4 Plus. Pls help me choose by giving your valuable advice. I have 2001 Acura TL Sedan. I had seen excellent reviews on Yokohama mostly in wet and dry seasons, I am unclear on how they perform in winter (I live in NJ, sometimes winters get very messy and sometimes they are not bad). On the other hand, I had used Michelins before and mostly they are fine, but I had seen poor performance when taking curves(screeching noise) and also they were not that good when it comes to snow. Price on Yokohama's is very pleasing..almost half of what Michelins cost. Also, I am not sure if I should get All season tires or winter tires. If I buy winter tires, then I believe I had to take them off after winter is over and switch to summer/all-season tires.. is this what you guys do? Wouldn't that add extra cost on changing tires, rotation and balancing very often, although I dont know how much those things cost. In any case, I need some good advice on buying good tires while saving some money.

Appreciate your help.
Old 12-15-2007, 09:55 PM
-Arsenic-

Received 101 Likes on 94 Posts
For the value, Yokos all the way. Michelins aren't worth as much as they charge.
Old 12-15-2007, 11:58 PM
Advanced

Originally Posted by 02type-s
For the value, Yokos all the way. Michelins aren't worth as much as they charge.
I agree 100%. I currently have the Avid W4. Prior to my current setup I had Pirelli PZero Nero M+S, Avon Tech 550AS, and Kumho ASX.