Viper Alarm info needed

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2001, 09:37 AM
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Viper Alarm info needed

Newbie here,

Anyone installed viper alarm on tl-s? No clifford installers near my home and another third party installer warned against viper.

Any comments/help on Viper would be appreciated. This is my only aftermarket choice.

Want to keep my original HIDs as long as possible. Thanks.
Old 07-20-2001, 10:48 AM
Senior Moderator

Received 1,760 Likes on 1,046 Posts
Lightbulb re: Alarm

You may want to check in the TL Forum... a lot of those guys have installed an aftermarket alarm and they could probably help out!!
Old 07-20-2001, 10:53 AM
Banned

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
I have a Viper 550 that was on my CL-S 2001 when I bought it off a guy.

I like the Alarm / Car Starter, but it's actually MORE ALARM than what I need most of the time. Easy enought to disable via the remote the Features you don't want to HEAR going off at the slightest KNOCK !

It's a Good Alarm System, but I like the Car starter as mush as anything about it.

Caddy

caddy@cdc.net
Old 07-20-2001, 12:15 PM
do it yourself, !

I was doing research on alarms also. My recent gatherings are that DEI has now acquired Clifford. DEI is the makers of Viper, Python, Hornet?, and several others that I forgot. But either way, its the same brain just different name for marketing pruposes. Can anyone verify this or correct me if I am wrong. Hope this helps.

j
Old 07-20-2001, 07:34 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 616 Likes on 294 Posts
DEi did acquire Clifford, but the brains are not the same between the Clifford and Viper units. Clifford still utilizes dual point immobilizations, and having owned both, The Clifford is vastly superior.
Old 07-20-2001, 11:03 PM
4th Gear

Many thanks for your info. Let's all try our best to stay alarmed and keep our rides in top shape!!!!
Old 07-21-2001, 03:25 PM
Drifting

Received 45 Likes on 36 Posts