Timing belt/water pump change – my experience

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2009, 12:43 PM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Timing belt/water pump change – my experience

I have done my timing belt/coolant/water pump plus two other belts over the past weekend and I just want to share my experience.
This is the first time that I have done something like this, so in my case it was not a small task; which is not to say that I am inexperienced when it comes to cars, I just did not do something like this ever before. And it is important to say that I do not do this for a living, I am just an ordinary DIY person I guess.
So, it did take me two fool days to complete plus on the second day I had a friend for a few hours who’s helped me as well.
Since this topic was already discussed and there are at least two DIY threads already with pictures, I will not repeat what has been already said, rather I will try to point out to some things that I found difficult and/or was not able to see in the book (shop manual) or see here on this forum and that I think are worth mentioning.

1) Draining the coolant from the engine block was a first difficulty I faced. I have already discussed this here:

https://acurazine.com/forums/2g-tl-1999-2003-98/coolant-engine-block-drain-bolt-716867/

To this I would like to add the following (now that I have completed the job and gained some knowledge from it).
I was able to put the hose on the drain bolt (the suitable hose is the one in which you can put #3 philips head screwdriver, this is for the reference), then I thought that box wrench 12mm should do the job but I was wrong. Tight space and the fact that the bolt is made from soft material caused slight stripping of bolt’s head, so the wrench was not doing the job.