Thoughts on 2003 TL Type-S?

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2003, 10:26 PM
10th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thoughts on 2003 TL Type-S?

I am a newbie on this forum so nice to meet you guys. I am looking at the new 2003 Acura TL Type-S. First of all, how is the sound system on this sedan? For those of you who have this vehicle, does the paint get damaged easily by peebles on the highway on the hood or front end? Lastly, do they sell the dark smoke plastic hood protector for this car? If yes, how much and where? Thanks for your input.
Old 04-11-2003, 11:34 PM
Instructor

Regarding the sound system, it all depends on what your levels of expectation are. I personally didn't think it was that great, maybe good to fair for the average person. I kept the stock head unit, but had a separate amp, eq, and speakers installed with additional deadening material placed in the doors. But, then again, I'm a bit of an audio/video nut...

Regarding the second, do a search and you hear from tons of people how easily a rock can chip the hood, side mirror covers, etc.

The other questions, I'm sure someone else would be able to answer.

ckNJ
Old 04-11-2003, 11:50 PM
Advanced

Personally...I think the sounds system is 1 area that needs improved on future TL-S's. It only has 5 speakers... The quality may be considered by some to be good (BOSE), but the level of sound sucks!

I wouldn't let this stop you from getting a TL-S, but I'd consider upgrading the stock speakers.
Old 04-12-2003, 01:18 PM
Instructor

Yeah, I've had my TL-S for about a month now and am not impressed with the sound system. It's pretty muddy sounding. It's well documented in the Audio section of the message board.
Old 04-12-2003, 04:24 PM
Instructor