Sway Bars

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2002, 09:49 PM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sway Bars

These might sound like silly questions, but I'm a bit new to car mod'ing...

Do sway bars significantly decrease roll when cornering? If so, does it also make the ride less cushy esp when going over bumps? Lastly, which do you recommend and are they easy to install?

Thanks.

Jung
Old 08-29-2002, 10:47 PM
Three Wheelin'

yes they dramatically reduce body roll, it's the bomb, actually even more important than springs / shocks

if you get really thick sways yes the ride would be compromised a bit. but trust me, even with a thick sway the penalty in ride quality is minimal compared to springs and shocks

i have comptech and like them a lot. you can get neuspeed which are thicker, but to me comptech is just fine.

dunno if it's very easy to install, i got them installed for 80 bucks so....
Old 08-29-2002, 11:22 PM
Safety Car

Anybody know if it's easy to switch them? I want to get them, but I'm just not sure if I can do it myself.
Old 08-30-2002, 12:09 AM
Instructor

Got CT Sways here too with springs on the way. Gotta say that the sways significantly improved the feel of the car on turns. I drove around for about 2 months on stocks, and didn't think I would notice, but it really does help. I'm hoping the springs will also juice up the handling. Based on past posts I read on the topic, sways and springs really complement each other, but if you could only have one, sways seems to be everyone's pick for improved handling.

Had mine installed PAA (Park Ave Acura) during my last appointment. The install was a joke for them since they do it so often. But if you do it yourself, make sure you don't skip the teflon wrapping, otherwise you'll get squeaking!

ckNJ
Old 08-30-2002, 12:34 AM
Three Wheelin'

I just recently installed the Comptechs a few months ago and I love em. Easy to install if you have a set ramps and the required tools.