squeaky/scratchy sound from driver's window **help**

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2003, 10:28 AM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
squeaky/scratchy sound from driver's window **help**

everytime time i roll down my driver's side window, it makes this squeaky/scratchy sound. at first, it was only once in a while and now it's every time. it really annoys me!! i've tried cleaning my window and i've checked the rubber guard on the door where the window goes up and down but no luck...still does it.
anyone else ever had this problem?
any advise will be appreciated
thanks
Old 08-05-2003, 12:49 PM
Three Wheelin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Well, if its not the rubber at the bottom on the inside OR the outside of the glass, then its gotta be in the track inside the door. It will take you about 5 minutes (10 if you never did it before) to remove the door panel and have a look. (i was a professional car audio installer for 15 years so i can get the door panel off and disconnect all the wiring to the window switches, etc., in under 1 min. )

It really is easy even if you never did it before. There is only 1 phillips screw to remove under the center part of the door arm rest, and then there is a second screw behind the round plastic cover up by the door handle. Use a sharp pick or small tip flathead screw driver to open the plastic cover (but be careful not to tear it off as it is hinged at the front part) then you unscrew the phillips screw you will see up there, then slide the door handle forward to take it off the door, and undo the plastic clip holding the door opening rod onto the handle. Finally, grab the door panel allong the edge and give it a pull outward starting from around the bottom. There are a series of plastic pressure clips that hold the panel to the door. When you get all the clips to pop out just lift up on the whole panel and remove it. Reach behind and undo the few plugs you will find back there and you're in!