Paint and Wax ????

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2003, 10:17 AM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Paint and Wax ????

My car is currently being repainted (completely) by the dealer

See here for reason of repaint. (my post is the 10th on the 1st page)

I was wondering

1) When would be a safe time to wax the car after this. Winter is coming up (I'm in NY) and I hear (from this site) that it could have a terrible affect on my paint.

2) I am completely new to waxing. I've never done it before (TL-S is my first New Car) What is an effective and easy method for a beginner?

3) what would be a simple wax/polish that I could use? (I know waxes and polishes are 2 different things)

I have done a search and alot of the things I have found have been rather detail but not really for beginners. I've also read up and looked into the whole Zanio process but that too looks a little more detailed than I should take on at this point. I don't want to end up with swirl marks or even damaging the paint for that matter.

Any help would be appreciated....
By the way I have a Nighthawk Black Pearl TL-s
Old 10-09-2003, 10:54 AM
Senior Moderator

Received 3,063 Likes on 2,119 Posts
if its just been repainted i wouldnt wax it for atleast 3 months. he paint needs time to fully cure. it should be fine throught the winter and in the spring was and wax it with a good wax then. dont do it before.
Old 10-09-2003, 10:57 AM
is the Mighty Favog

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts