Accident Ruined My Vacation

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2001, 07:50 AM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Accident Ruined My Vacation

After having a real peaceful day at the beach yesterday, I was driving home to get my car washed and some smuck in a station wagon ran a stop sign at about 35 MPH and hit be broadside. Aside from a very sore body, I am sick over the damage to my car. I'm pissed at the guy that hit me mostly because he had a strong smell of alcohol ( Monday at 2:00 PM ). He admitted to the police he "had a few". They were giving him a field sobriety test when I left. I had to have my car towed on a flat bed. I'm not a pro, but I would guess that the damage is around $10K.

I am on my way to meet the adjuster at our local body shop. My one comfort is that this body shop has done work for us in the past ( yes, I have kids) and has done excellent work and has a great reputation. I was adament that only Acura new parts be installed and the body shop owner assured me that where the car is only a few months old, that wouldn't be a problem. I've heard stories in the past about insurance companies cutting corners, so I want to make certain the adjuster also agrees that only Acura OEM parts will be installed. Sorry for the long posting, but I need to vent.

TLDan
2002 Aegean Blus TL-S
Old 08-21-2001, 08:06 AM
Pro

Unhappy

Bad luck and a sad story, though at least you're not badly damaged!. Hope that the "baby" is restored to pristine condition.
Old 08-21-2001, 08:08 AM
Instructor

Ugh, sorry to hear it.

At least you are [mostly, physically] okay, though, right? It's a lot harder for hospitals to use genuine OEM parts!

Paul
Old 08-21-2001, 08:54 AM
Pro

Sorry man! Almost a year ago some blonde bimbo did the same thing, at about the same speed and did cause $10k worth of damage on my Infiniti.