Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2009, 04:40 PM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
200k Maintenance

my first post on this forum, go easy.

Hello all!

I just bought a '02 TLs w/navi on Jan. 1st. w/192k

Previous owner was very good about maintenance, going to an acura dealer for every oil change about every 3 months.
Tranny was replaced at about 100k. Car as of today runs like a top with only 1 problem that I have noticed. When parked cold (MN winter) outside, I can hear a slight tick until it starts to warm up then it vanishes. I want to remove any questions as to what and when has been done.

I plan on doing the full 105k and am thinking about doing a valve adjustment in the next month. I'm not a novice mechanically, but i haven't attempted timing belt change or the valves before so i'll leave that to a pro.

I have been reading for the past 3 weeks here but found very little about this high a mileage maintenance.

I am wondering what else should I have them do while I have it in. Or better yet, what else should I do while im doing the basics ie, spark plugs, air filter, cabin filter, oil.
Old 01-21-2009, 04:48 PM
Low & Slow w/Dubz On My

first off Welcome to the forum and damn congratz on almost reaching the 200k mark...its things like this that i see and makes me happy that with proper maintenace myine will last that long...ur ticking will be the valve adjustment or maybe jus timing belt...u might wanna have them check motor mounts also...
Old 01-21-2009, 05:00 PM
Team Owner

Received 1,137 Likes on 1,067 Posts
the ticking is possibly a smog valve on the driver side- common wearout- $50
or maybe the ac belt tensioner pulley on the top of the engine passenger side
$85 plus labor- have it replaced along with all the tensioner pullies and idler pullies at the 105 service- make it like brand new
Do the spark plugs yourself- NGK Iridium IX , 7 bucks each at parts stores (25 each at dealer)