Stupid XM NAV Traffic question

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2007, 04:41 PM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stupid XM NAV Traffic question

I just bought a pre-owned 05 RL from a private seller, so no dealer to show me the ropes.

My problem is I signed up for XM Radio with extra NAV Traffic option and the XM radio is working fine, but how do I tell if NAV Traffic is?

I think you can get incident and construction icons to appear on regular navigation screen, without signing up for NAV traffic with XM, by just saying "show traffic." I get the traffic bar at bottom of screen and a few construction/incident icons appear from time to time, but I don't see anything that indicates heavy traffic, like a double red line or anything that's especially useful in addition to those icons.

So is my NAV traffic from XM working? What is it supposed to do? They've re-set it twice. And I'm in Orlando, which they say is available for XM NAV Traffic.

Sorry, if I'm a novice at this, but it's my first car with navigation, so I'm new to all this.

P.S. Can I assume AcuraLink is working and will notify me when service is due or is there something I have to do to activate that. Don't want to link it to my phone, just have it appear in the car.

Thanks.
Old 02-05-2007, 05:16 PM
2012 Cadillac CTS-V Coupe

Received 95 Likes on 66 Posts
If you are getting construction and accident icons appearing, then it is on. That's all part of the XM Navtraffic.

If you also go to the website below to check what roads in your area are covered. If a road in your area supports traffic flow information, that road should be colored red, yellow, or green.

http://www.xmradio.com/navtraffic/market_coverage.xmc
Old 02-05-2007, 07:12 PM
Racer

In addition, make sure you are in the right zoom range to see the traffic flow lines, not all zoom levels will show this.

Pete
Old 02-06-2007, 06:11 AM
Burning Brakes

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Originally Posted by petemc