Considering a RL purchase - 3 questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2009 | 10:48 AM
2nd Gear

Question Considering a RL purchase - 3 questions

Howdy all,
I've been impressed with the feature list on the 2005-2009 RL and put it on my list of cars to consider. I'm in the market for a used 4-door luxury sport sedan and wanted to know a few things about the RL.

1. Does anyone think the transmission shifting is a little "jerky" or too noticeable? I've been driving Lexus cars for the last 6 yrs and this become obvious very quickly (SC430, LS430, GS400, and RX300)
  2. Road noise, bearing noise, or transmission noise becomes increasingly loud at 55+ mph. I've only driven 2 RLs, but the one i and testing today has 65k miles on it and it had vibration and a humming noise at that higher speed. Is this common?
  3. Ambient lighting. I like the lighting in the 2006 I'm testing today. It has BLUE in the foot well, door handles, and probably other places... that that standard?
  4. Final bonus question... what is the cost to install a backup camera? Has anyone performed a DIY install or is this a dealer only project.
Thanks for the feedback. I'm close to selecting my next car and hope this helps me make my selection.

Cheers,
Old 07-16-2009 | 11:24 AM
Burning Brakes

I'll chime in.

1) I find the shifting somewhat leisurely, and occassionally a little bit firm (jerky is too perjorative for me).
2) I find the car pretty quiet all the way around. I wouldn't consider it loud. However, Honda products are known for having a bit more road noise than other brands.
3) Blue lighting is normal. I like it, too.
4) Been done -- look in the Audi, Bluetooth, Navigation, and Electronics board in the 2nd Gen RL forum. https://acurazine.com/forums/showthr...=backup+camera

Hope this helps.

By the way, what are you comparing the RL against, and why are you considering leaving Lexus?

Rob144
Old 07-16-2009 | 11:53 AM
Safety Car

^^^That would be Audio, not Audi!