GPS position off by a half-mile

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2017, 02:36 PM
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
GPS position off by a half-mile

Happy new year, all. Seems I'm having some issues with my less-than-a-week-old RDX Advance... found this morning that the Nav is saying my car is about a half-mile northweat from where it actually is, so I'm "driving" across open terrain and non-digitized roads according to the Nav. Could this be a potential New Year's GPS glitch, or is my car freaking out and I need to take it back to the dealer? I've also been having some other issues (that unfortunately can't seem to be replicated at the dealer) with the radio where Sirius XM presets won't show up on the readout correctly, and the LKAS lines need to be turned on every time I start the car.
Old 01-01-2017, 08:17 PM
Intermediate

Sorry for displaying my noob tendencies... first time with a high-end car that has all these bells and whistles! (I graduated to my RDX from a 2006 Honda Accord where the smartest thing in the vehicle was the driver... now that's no longer the case with the RDX.) I looked it up in the manual when I got home and found out how to correct the position using the on-board menu. Just thought it was odd that the vehicle positioning would shift so radically and suddenly, but it looks like something I can correct myself.
The following users liked this post:
justnspace (01-04-2017)
Old 01-04-2017, 09:08 AM
Intermediate

Okay, not trying to bump my own thread, I promise... Stopped on my way home from work last night to fill up my gas tank, and when I got back in the car, the GPS was off-kilter again and I had to correct the vehicle position. My wife's 2014 RAV4 has on-board nav and she's never had to correct her vehicle position, but now I've had to update mine twice in a week. The dealer says "this happens sometimes" and went into the hidden menu to do a diagnostic (which said the GPS was fine), but I'm wondering how often this happens to some of you.