Need a new scheme to acquire a service manual

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2021, 11:33 AM
Burning Brakes

Received 314 Likes on 219 Posts
Need a new scheme to acquire a service manual

So by now it's pretty common knowledge that Honda has been moving towards digital service manuals, kept in the hands of specific entities, away from the average bears like you and I.

I recall a previous thread where a generous tech was pulling specific requests from the 2G RDX service manual, but he since has moved on and lost access to such (thank you for your service).

Additionally, I recall a one-off link to a site where you could "purchase" an access pass to view the manual, one page at a time (or something) for a limited amount of time. I cannot seem to remember or find this thread, if a site like that even exists.

So what's the point of these ramblings you ask? Well, I create instructional content for a living, and I have authored + designed various textbooks. And I was thinking, if I could get temporary access to the digital manual, and indeed download the pages one at a time, I think I could streamline the process and create a single PDF/manual of all content, relatively easy. I have the tools and the free time. It would be awesome to have a giant PDF with the entirety of the service manual in it, like the 3G TL - being able to share that instead of having people pay for specific access, or consistently bothering a user to pull certain content every day.

My question is, what was this access point or website called? Did I just dream it up? If anyone could point me in the right direction, I'd appreciate it. Also, in the event that there may be some other option to acquire a digital copy of the service manual, I'd love to hear other ideas/input. Hell, I'd even settle for a physical copy, I could easily convert one to digital (though I don't think they exist anymore).

Thanks!
Old 10-21-2021, 04:16 PM
10th Gear

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post