Advice for first time Acura buyer - RDX 2G

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2020, 11:34 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Advice for first time Acura buyer - RDX 2G

Hi all - I’m looking to buy a 2G RDX soon and was wondering if there’s any thing specific I should be looking out for during inspections and test drives?

My budget is under $20K (Ideally around 16-18K) so I’ll most likely be limited to pre-facelift models with around 80K miles. What kind of major issues, if any, should I be prepared to address in the near future with a RDX of this age and mileage?

I’ve been searching around and couldn’t seem to find any issues too concerning w 2Gs (one of the reasons the RDX is at the top of my list) but I’m new to Acura so would appreciate any advice.
Old 08-22-2020, 03:57 AM

Received 16,263 Likes on 11,973 Posts
it's a pretty solid car.
the engine has been refined for over 20 years, using the same architecture for 2 decades.
at 105k miles, there will be a significant service, which entails the water pump, timing belt and its tensioner and spark plugs. depending on who you take it to; the service can range from $400 to $1200, so keep that in mind.

other than that, you're looking at normal car things that can wear out with use and time...tires, oil, brakes, brake fluid, coolant, etc.etc.
Very solid car.
The following users liked this post:
Midnight Mystery (08-24-2020)
Old 08-22-2020, 06:29 AM
Instructor

Received 51 Likes on 36 Posts
I agree with everything junstnspace has said. There is some periodic maintenance (transmission, differential, and transfer case fluids) that should have been performed a few times. If you find a car with record of that maintenance, it would be a bonus. We've had ours since new in 2014, and are very happy with it. Most reliable car we've owned.
Old 08-22-2020, 09:03 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the info.