Power seat control issue

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2007, 01:07 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Power seat control issue

I'm a newbie to the board. just purchased an '01 CL-S.

It's not a perfect example but seems to have been taken care of and has had many of the necessary expensive fixes done, ie timing belt, HID box, trans recall (once, fingers crossed).

I'm looking for some advice regarding the seat control. The drivers side has the forward/rear function but will not tilt up or down or control the seat back. The switch initiates a faint clunk in the rear lower part of the seat but that's all.

My assumptions are as follows. Switches are working since they seem to transfer power. Two motors are unlikely to go at the same time.

So , I'm thinking that there must be some sort of relay/ controller that is at fault.

Anyone know what's really in there !?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kevin
Old 08-21-2007, 11:16 PM
Intermediate

i have an 01 cl-p and my seat back will not tilt up or down. I can hear the motor itself starting to go then a clunk and nothing. I actually called a reputable dealer in the area and they said a lot of times there is some kinda plastic peace that breaks in the seat itself. i inspected my seat as best i could but could not see any cracks or breaks in the plastic. One thing i did notice is that my seat feels a little loose now. I can feel it shift backwards just a little bit when I accelerate or forwars when i brake. Does yours do the same?
Old 08-23-2007, 12:07 AM
2nd Gear

My seat back does not seem loose. I will probably take the back of the seat off when i have the time though on most power seats I've worked on in the past the wiring and motors are more readily accessible from the bottom so if I have to I'll remove the seat.
Good luck getting yours fixed, sounds like a different situation.

Kevin
Old 11-05-2008, 11:34 AM
GroundeDCustoM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts