Good old electrical issue!

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2019, 11:04 AM
Cruisin'

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Good old electrical issue!

Hey everybody, got a fun one for you today.

Year/Make/Model/Mileage: 2003 Acura CL Type-S, 249,000 miles.

So, I'll preface this by saying I have no experience with tracking down exposed wires. I wouldn't really know where to begin, and when I've brought it up with a mechanic shop, they are consistent they'll have to hold the vehicle for multiple days, which really isn't an option with my work schedule.

I live in Jacksonville, FL, so rain is fairly consistent. And whenever there is so much as a light layer of water on the ground, one of my fuses blows. It's the #6 fuse on the driver's side interior fuse box, which controls ECU (PCM), Cruise Control, VSA. Once this fuse blows, the car has a serious lack of power. I have to hold down the gas pedal for about 3 seconds to get the tire off of the line. On top of that, my RPMs range from 500-1000 higher than normal. The battery will also begin to drain and die, so if you drive far enough with this issue, your battery will be drained. The electronics begin working poorly, as it seems it is simply working off of the battery at the time. But before anyone says alternator... Yes, the alternator has been replaced by a reputable shop and the installation was done correctly, and the alternator is top of the line. The car's dashboard goes insane - P, R, N, and D5 are all on at the same time. D5 will blink, P, R, & N will all be on. Once you stop the car, and put it in park, it will lock into reverse, but it will not drive forward until you replace that fuse and erase the codes it throws. The VSA light comes on, as does the Check Engine light. I have a relatively shitty code reader, but it has given me these codes:

P1298 - Electric Load Detector Circuit High Voltage
P0135 - O2 Sensor Heater Circuit Malfunction Bank 1 Sensor 1
P0141 - O2 Sensor Heater Circuit Malfunction Bank 1 Sensor 2