Jens: Throttle Body Porting - What's Your Opinion?

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2001, 12:14 PM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Jens: Throttle Body Porting - What's Your Opinion?

Jens,
Would throttle body porting on the CL-S increase throttle response and broad range power? Based on engine displacement vs. current throttle body intake size, is there room for improvement or is it already well matched to the 2nd stage induction/engine displacement for this engine?

BTW, I'm running CAI and Headers -

Thanks in advance for your help!

------------------
01 CL-S Black/Parchment
AEM CAI
Comptech Headers
Old 04-08-2001, 03:10 PM
retired

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Mint Julip,this is a good question but I am going think this one over as I am a mechanic and not an engineer.In theory anything you can do to increase the amount of air your engine can ingest is considered a good thing so an enlarged throttle body seems like a good idea and probably is.But notice I say "probably".As you may know your intake plenum is really more like two different intakes that can be selected with a moveable door.This is done so that vtec lobes on the cams can be used efficiently.In order to have this stuff work well part of the deal is that the speed of the intake charge is set to take advantage of some degree of ram tuning.If you change the diameter of the intake or the throttle body you will begin to change what the engineers tried to accomplish.By enlarging ports etc. it is possible to slow down the airflow in the plenum which changes the point at which maximum power is achieved and may also change how responsive the engine is to throttle application.